How high’s the water mama? Three feet high and risin’!

Standard
How high’s the water mama?  Three feet high and risin’!

Johnny Cash, How High’s the Water Mama?

What a glorious, chilly, drizzly kind of day.  Thank you Patricia!  Oh, not the DSCN7519Patricia I was hoping would come for a visit (person), but not the Patricia the weather people had us all (south Texans) scared to death was coming either (hurricane), thank goodness.  It’s just one of those yummy, kind of drizzly, sweater-weather autumn days, that makes me want to tie my hair up in a knot and lounge in my sweatpants (and worn out flannel shirt with rolled up sleeves) kind of day.  Maybe drag out a craft, or a puzzle, or repot a plant kind of day.

DSCN7511

Maybe write a blog post, or surf all my “possible record matches” on Ancestry.com sort of day.  It’s a putter-around-the-house, pop-a-movie (or whole season of a Alias DVDTV series — ooooh, like Alias) in-the-DVD-player, wiggle-my-sockie-footed-self-down-into-a-huge fluffy-blanket-on-the-couch, and nibble out of a giant bowl of hot buttered popcorn and fresh peanut M&Ms, with a humongous carafe of fresh brewed, half sweet iced tea (whew…pant, pant, that was a mouth-full — in more ways than one) kind of day.

If I were a reader I’d cuddle in my lounge chair by my picture window and lose myself in a great story, BUT this ol gal is more of a cookbook and magazine kind of gal.

DSCN7478 (2)

It’s a perfect day to bake a huge, beefy pot roast in the oven, with some scrubbed potatoes and carrots tossed in, or bake something lusciously sweet and sinful — except then I will only want to eat it (DANGER! DANGER!).

OR, do up all of my dirty laundry so I can listen to it tumble in the dryer…

DSCN7481…and fill the house with the smells of laundry soap and dryer sheets.

Oh my, all of this sounds wonderful!  And I’ve just gone from a lazy Saturday to trying to fit too many things into my weekend again.  🙂  Oh well, let’s start with some cookin’….. (and then we’ll do some eatin’)  🙂

DSCN7482

.

DSCN7484MrsH’s Best Pot Roast Ever

1  3½  lb. Boneless Rump Roast

3 Tablespoons Beef Base (I buy mine at Sam’s Club)

1 packet Lipton Onion Soup Mix

2 Tablespoons Salt Lick dry rub (I buy mine at our local HEB grocery store)

2 to 3 Bay Leaves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Fill covered baking dish with about 3 inches of fresh cool water (about 8 cups).  Add Beef Base and Onion Soup Mix to water.  Set thawed roast down into the seasoned water and sprinkle with dry rub – not too heavily.  Lay two or three Bay Leaves on top, cover, and place in oven.  Bake for one hour and then roll the roast over in the pan so that the bottom side is now facing up.  Recover and let bake for another hour and roll the roast again.  Bake for another hour and roll the roast again.  Check doneness by using a fork to pry a piece of the roast free.  If it pulls free easily, blow on it and pop it in your mouth to see if it is tender.  If it is it is done.  If it is not, give it another roll and let it cook another hour and then check it again.

When tender and done, remove Roast from oven.  Allow to set for about 10 minutes, then take roast our of pan juices and place it on a platter while gravy is made.

MrsH’s Best Gravy Ever

In a saucepot melt about half a stick of butter.  Add about 4 or 5 Tablespoons of flour.  Stir to combine.  Mixture should be slightly runny.  If there is too much flour add a little more butter.  Cook over medium heat, stirring often until the mixture begins to turn kind of a caramel color (this is a medium roux).  WATCH IT — don’t let it burn!  When the flour/butter mixture is ready, pour all the liquid from the roast into the roux and whisk like crazy to avoid lumps.  Whisk until gravy is nice and thick.  If too thick, add a little water.  Taste to make sure it is delicious. 

Slice roast into pieces, or pull apart into large chunks and arrange on a platter.  Cover with half the gravy and then cover with foil.  You can pop this back in the warm oven until the other parts of the meal are ready.  

.

MrsH’s Best Potatoes Ever 

Just a little FYI…these are hubby’s very favorite potatoes!  

When you pop your roast in the oven, scrub a few russet potatoes and pop them in the oven to bake with the roast.  When ‘taters are sqeezable remove them from the oven and let them cool.  About 30 minutes before you are ready to serve the roast, melt about half a stick of butter in a medium high heat frying pan.  Slice the potatoes into 3/4 inch slices and lay in the melted butter to fry.  Sprinkle the top sides with a little bit of the Salt Lick Dry Rub, but not too much, and a little grind of salt.  Check them to see when they are turning golden and then flip them to the other side.  When both sides are golden they are ready to eat.  

Now I didn’t do it this time, but sometimes I serve these piled on a plate with a dallop of sour cream and a sprinkle of chopped green onion.  You could even load them up with shredded cheese and some bacon crumbles too!!!  But today I just wanted the gravy.  Mmmm….mmmm….mmmmm….I could just eat a plate of these!!!!!

.

MrsH’s Best Roasted Zucchini Ever

Normally I like cooked carrots with my roast.  I sometimes even like them candied (cooked and then covered with a brown sugar, butter, little bit of salt sauce).  But today I had zucchini in my fridge that I needed to do something with, so I sliced them up into half inch slices and fried them in the same frying pan as the potatoes.  I just added a little more butter and also gave them a sprinkle of the Dry Rub (a very skimpy sprinkle) and a grind of salt.  I fried them on each side just long enough for them to cook but not become mushy.  They were delish!!!!

.DSCN7485

A fresh loaf of rustic bread pulled apart and slathered with butter is the perfect side kick for this meal.  Hubbie will be so happy!!!  I’ll have a happy hubbie.  A big, full, equally lazy but happy hubbie.  🙂

.

.

WhOoooop….. there it is!!!!  WhOooooop….. there it is!!!!!  YUM!!!!

Roast Beef Supper (2)

.

DSCN7487

And what could be better than chocolate chip cookies for dessert?  Oh yes please! choc chip cookies Especially these, that I bought from my grand-daughter that are already made and all I have to do is bake them.  Except I like pecans in my chocolate chip cookies, so I add a few nuts to each scoop of dough before I bake them.  🙂

.

.

Well….so….that’s what I’m doing with my lazy <strrrretttttch>, perfect, dreary, cold, <yawwwwwwn> drizzly, indoor Saturday …  What’cha gonna do with yours?

“For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, And do not return there, But water the earth, And make it bring forth and bud, That it may give seed to the sower And bread to the eater, So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”  

Isaiah 55:10-11

About mrshlovesjesus

Hello and welcome to my little cul-de-sac on the web. It is a delight to make your acquaintance. Before you read another word, please get yourself a beverage, something yummy to nibble on, and then flop back in a comfy seat and read the rest!!! .........OH MY...what is that you have? I'd love your recipe.......... Where do I start? I am a fiftysomething (shhhhhh), still-doesn't-know -what-she-wants-to-be-when-she-grows-up, wife, mother, grandmother, sister, daughter, niece, cousin, aunt, stranger, and friend with a fiendish hankerin' for spoiling people. I was born and raised in a small town in the fly-over country of Wyoming's Rocky Mountains, which might explain my natural ability to fritter away hours dreaming up stuff to do ('cause there was nothing to do except what we dreamed up to do). I've decided that my favorite things in life are cooking up something new in the kitchen and hanging up something new-to-me on the walls (preferably something I've made), and I kinda like my garden and yard too, as a tinkerer and an admirer of the Creator's magnificent works. And when people will let me, I love serving them with love, and the Bible, and food and pretty things. By all means, ransack through my RECENT POSTS and borrow anything you like. I'm sure it will all be cuter on you anyways, and I would love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

