Possibly the Worst Meatloaf on the Planet

Standard
Possibly the Worst Meatloaf on the Planet

Ha!  Did I get your attention?

This is the number one requested supper of my son-in-law.  I make it every year for his birthday.  Since I really don’t measure anything and always just make it from memory – he says it is always just a little different (sometimes I add diced celery or grated carrot, not a lot, just a little.  Maybe a half a cup or so?  Sometimes I can’t find ground buffalo and so I have to make it all beef – And I prefer using a good quality ground sirloin, organic if I can find it.  Often times I add a jalapeno or Serrano from my garden, minced, sometimes I give it a couple squirts of Worcestershire sauce, and I often have a different variety of BBQ sauce), but the boy insists that no matter how it turns out it is always his favorite.  Who doesn’t want to spoil rotten such a son-in-law as that?

If you can’t find the Salt Lick dry rub, basically all it is is about 1/2 tsp of cayenne powder, 1 tsp of ground black pepper, and 1/2 tsp of salt.  It might have a sprinkle of garlic powder in it too.

One of these times I’m going to think about it while I’m making it and take some photos.  I can’t believe I’ve never taken a photo of my meatloaf, but I can’t seem to find an images of it on my computer, so they must be lost in the pile of SD cards.  Ha!  I’ll try to remember to come back and add photos to this post when I find them.  Oh wait, I have leftovers!!!  I’ll share a photo of the cold meatloaf, and the meatloaf sandwich I’m having for lunch today. And I’ll still come back and show you the preparation photos another day.  How about that?

DSCN9079

Try your best to completely wrap the loaf with the bacon, roll it over and get it all the way around, top to bottom and end to end.  And I like the thin, Applewood smoked bacon the best!!!  It gets crispy before the BBQ sauce goes on and that’s the way I like it.  And I always make my loaf into a log that’s about as big around as, well, if I put the tips of my pointer fingers together and my thumbs together and made a big wide circle shape, I could probably slide the loaf through, barely.  I use an oblong glass cake pan.  And I kind of press the loaf flat on top so the BBQ sauce will stay on.  I also LOVE LOVE LOVE ground black pepper, so I am pretty generous with it.  You could get fancy and sprinkle some fresh Thyme on top with the ground pepper before you toss the loaf in the oven.

If you like Sweet Potatoes, do those instead of the baked russets.  My son-in-law loves to load his mashed sweet ‘tater up with brown sugar (or maple syrup) and butter, crushed up pecans, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a few mini-marshmallows.  And I could honestly just eat the whole pot of cream corn all by myself.  I can’t get enough of that stuff.

Any-hoooo… ENJOY!!!!

Meatloaf

And, if you like Meatloaf Sandwiches, mmmmm, here’s how I like ’em:

DSCN9080Whole Wheat bread

Mayo

Course Ground Mustard

About 1/4 inch thick slices of cold meatloaf

a nice thick slice of sweet, white onion

Lots of Romaine Lettuce

and sometimes a slice of dill pickle

Okay, I feel better now that at least you have something to look at!!!  đź™‚

Come for Supper?

DSCN8892

 

 

About mrshlovesjesus

Hello and welcome to my little cul-de-sac on the web. It is a delight to make your acquaintance. Before you read another word, please get yourself a beverage, something yummy to nibble on, and then flop back in a comfy seat and read the rest!!! .........OH MY...what is that you have? I'd love your recipe.......... Where do I start? I am a fiftysomething (shhhhhh), still-doesn't-know -what-she-wants-to-be-when-she-grows-up, wife, mother, grandmother, sister, daughter, niece, cousin, aunt, stranger, and friend with a fiendish hankerin' for spoiling people. I was born and raised in a small town in the fly-over country of Wyoming's Rocky Mountains, which might explain my natural ability to fritter away hours dreaming up stuff to do ('cause there was nothing to do except what we dreamed up to do). I've decided that my favorite things in life are cooking up something new in the kitchen and hanging up something new-to-me on the walls (preferably something I've made), and I kinda like my garden and yard too, as a tinkerer and an admirer of the Creator's magnificent works. And when people will let me, I love serving them with love, and the Bible, and food and pretty things. By all means, ransack through my RECENT POSTS and borrow anything you like. I'm sure it will all be cuter on you anyways, and I would love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

